Autism, Culture, and Representation

Hello Again!

I can’t help it. After just a few days, I’m back!

The funny thing about keeping a blog is that after awhile, you start thinking in blog posts. And when that happens, there’s no point in resisting it; and so, here I am.

After a crazy final-full day, I’m officially DONE. Which comes with many complicated emotions of joy and sorrow and even fear. But one of the things that kept me going today was looking forward to my trip to India over this break as well as my trip to the library after my last exam.

During a study break, I made a list of books that I could get for my trip to India. After Prof. Yergeau introduced me to Unstrange Minds by Roy Richard Grinker, it was first on my list. The book had been sitting on my bedside table for about a week, and I spent a lot wanting to stop studying to read it. The chapter about India was incredibly interesting, and since I’m the kind of person who has to read a book in its entirety to be satisfied, I just had to get it. And now, it will be accompanying me to India.

That’s really all I have to say, but I’m excited. Because the fact that this class over yet it is still influencing me just proves how great it was and how much I’ve learned. I’m hoping to see what I can learn about autism in India while I’m over there, and there will hopefully be more posts to come!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

